Can College Make You Dumber?

13 Sep

Hey Everyone!

Listen, I know that college has never made anyone dumber. Mostly I wanted a really awesome Title for this post.

With classes beginning last week I came to a few realizations, and wanted to make an important point.

A full time class schedule, and boosting up my time training (other people) in the gym has led to a schedule that doesn’t leave much time for, well, anything else.

The past few years I spent a lot of time self-educating. Seeking out succesful fitness professionals and coaches, reading their books, articles and blogs. In addition, I followed their guidance towards more scientific articles and texts as well. The outcome? I got good at what I do. More importantly I became increasingly more knowledgeable about the effects of exercise and nutrition.

To the point where I knew I didn’t just want to be a “personal trainer.” Lets face it…ANYONE with out a gut (and even some with one) can become a certified personal trainer. My quest ultimately brought me to the decision to get my degree in Exercise Science.

THE point is this. While the letters after your name can give you accreditation they are not the thing you need to look for in a good trainer. Many of the classes that fill my time and keep me from my past education habits don’t transfer over very effectively to what I do.

I know that intensifying my understanding of the human body will prove helpful. In fact I know my studies WILL make me a better trainer. Mainly because my experience helps me relate what I learn to my chosen craft right away. However, there truly is no replacement for a trainer with time in the trench who makes a daily habit of continuing education.

Knowledge is not necessarily power, but APPLIED knowledge is. I know people with MS after their name who have made no effort to continue their education since graduate school. They are disinterested in their client’s results, and their approach to helping people reach goals leaves much to be desired.

Likewise, I know some incredible people in this profession who didn’t put 6 years of school in.

I am going to make an effort to schedule an hour a day into my continuing education outside of my classwork. It’s that important, and if you or your trainer isn’t doing it, they aren’t holding up their end of the bargain.

What do you think?

Point In Case

2 Responses to “Can College Make You Dumber?”

  1. jon September 15, 2010 at 11:56 am #

    more dumb lol

  2. Artemis Scantalides September 17, 2010 at 6:04 pm #

    Complete idiocy.

    Along the lines of this pic, I once saw a trainer instructing his client to perform kettlebell swings on a Bosu. Yes, a bosu. Kettlebell swings should never be done on an unstable surface because your body is working hard enough to stabilize the asymmetrical weight!!

    So yes, stupid things are done all the time in gyms, even by people who are supposedly “certified and trained” to execute such exercises safely and effectively.

Leave a Reply

