“I Can’t” Versus “I Don’t Want To”

14 Jan
“If you don’t like something, change it. If you can’t change it, change your attitude.” Maya Angelou
I want to share something with you today that has helped me tremendously in everything I do. You have probably heard it before.
I have something I call the “I can’t” rule. The rule is I don’t use the phrase. Like most rules, there are exceptions. 98% of the time my rule is applicable.
When you decide to stop saying you can’t you take ownership of your decisions. Here’s an example:
“I can’t have any cheesecake.”
Fact of the matter is, I can have all the desserts I want. It’s not that I “can’t” house cheesecake, I’m capable, very capable. More accurately, I don’t want to. Why? Eating copious amounts of sugar is not going to aid me in getting leaner. Try this on for size:
“I don’t want any cheesecake because it is not going to help me reach my goals.”
Simple, right? After reading this short post, see how many times you catch yourself saying I can’t.
Additionally, work on stopping for a second and thinking about why you are making a decision. Is it that you can’t? Or that you don’t want to?
Greg
Leave a Reply

