Yo! Where Your Clients At?

16 Feb

I’ve read quite a few articles by those “in the know” on the characteristics and habits of a good coach or trainer. I wish they would take them and post ’em up on the front door of every gym in america.

The top of the list usually contains: doing assessments, writing actual programs, and continuing education.

I can’t argue with that.  Improving my ability, and my efforts in those areas has helped my clients dramatically.

However, I would like to add one of my own. I made an observation (I work in a commercial gym) a while back. I noticed that when trainers would leave the gym, take vacations, get sick, take a day off, etc. Their clients would mysteriously disappear for the same amount of time.

SHOCKER!

It seems as though without their training appointment these helpless few were clueless on what to do. How can that be the case? Some have / had been training with their trainer’s for over a year!

I find that ridiculous, and unacceptable. The trainer has clearly failed to do two of the things that top every list. First, they must not have laid out a program for their client. Secondly, the lack of programming would insist a lack of education. At this point in time something is written weekly on the importance and process of doing so effectively.

Let’s take it a step further. In addition to missing the mark on a fundamental step to helping someone reach their goals, the trainer has also not done the following:

  • The trainer has not identified their client’s task and purpose.

Simply put, Sally and Joe don’t know what to do or why they’re doing it.

You don’t have to enlighten them on the intricate details of programming. Albeit, they should know why it’s important to pull as much, if not more, than they push for example.

That being said, they need to have a solid understanding of how to perform various exercises with proper form.

They need to be able to do it without you.

I think it’s been said before, train your clients like this is the last time you’re going to see them. In the end, if they can’t / don’t do anything without you how much better off are they than where they started?

  <– This makes me want to vomit, repeatedly
One Response to “Yo! Where Your Clients At?”

  1. Robert February 18, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    Enjoy the new layout. I was pleased with the information. Thanks for this cool article.

Leave a Reply

