Never Settle

15 Dec

I used to be a person who constantly placed the blame for where I was in life and in my training on anyone or anything but myself.

“How did I get here?”  “How did this happen?” “Why haven’t I hit any of my goals?”

Somewhere deep inside me I knew where the blame belonged. On me. 

Instead of taking personal responsibility for the consequences of my actions I continually ran from them. This manifested itself into anger for others and various destructive behaviors to create a distraction from the truth. In the end I was always left angry and disappointed in myself. I didn’t own my decisions and this led to feelings of depression and apathy towards everything.

Needless to say this was not a great place to be. My life, my relationships, and my training suffered.

I lived life passively. I operated as if I didn’t have any choice. When we make an active choice we take responsibility for that decision. When we settle we are saying that this is “good enough.” The consequences are not our fault, or within our control.

Maybe you don’t like your body, but instead of choosing to do what’s necessary to make a change, you settle for something more comfortable.

Maybe you don’t like your job, but instead doing what’s necessary to enjoy your career, you settle for it. The thought of having no income is scary.

Maybe you’re unhappy in your relationship, but instead of taking action to fix it, you settle for what you have. The thought of being alone is overwhelming.

We can’t have everything we want. But shouldn’t we be true to ourselves and try? I think so.

Everyday we make choices, and no choice is small. Every choice we make helps to form the path of our lives. Whether it’s how we train, what we eat, what we do for work, or whom we choose to be with.

So what do you want? What do you want to look like or accomplish in the gym? What do you want to do for work? What do you want from your relationships?

Now ask yourself what you need.

What you need will often get you what you want. But what you need to do isn’t always something you want to do.

If you want to look better you need to eat clean and train correctly. You might not want to order something healthy. You might not want to lift heavy shit or run hill sprints.

If you want to enjoy your job you need to quit the one that makes you unhappy. You might not want to sacrifice the security of a paycheck. You might not want to start from the bottom somewhere else.

If you’re unhappy in your relationship you need to make changes. You might not want to communicate how you feel. You might not want to make sacrifices for the other person. You might not want to end the relationship and be alone.

Make choices. When you do you will take responsibility for their outcomes. That outcome may be positive or negative, but when you make choices you take ownership of your life. Don’t settle for anything that makes you unhappy. Change is in your hands and facilitated by each choice you make.

Choose to eat correctly. Choose to train correctly. Choose to be with someone. Choose to follow your dreams.

Do what you need to do even if it scares you. Don’t settle for less than what you want out of life and training. In doing so you will continue to become the strongest version of yourself.

4 Responses to “Never Settle”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2011′s Best – Fashionably Late « Greg Robins - January 5, 2012

    […] Never Settle […]

  2. I Went To a Yoga Class « Greg Robins - March 18, 2012

    […] world is full of people who cling to a feeling of security. Not to mention those who are narrow minded, stubborn and unwilling to at least TRY something new. […]

  3. You are setting yourself up to fail. « Greg Robins - March 23, 2012

    […] Never Settle […]

  4. 25 Lessons From My 25th Year « Greg Robins - May 4, 2012

    […] 5. In line with number 4, start making conscious decisions. […]

Leave a Reply

