Fired Up!

20 Dec

When I was 19 years old all I wanted for Christmas was to do 10 training sessions with a personal trainer at my local gym. I was about 2 years into my fitness kick and I wanted nothing more than to learn how to get JACKED. As it turns out what I learned from this trainer was very little.

I was put on a program that I wouldn’t wish upon my worst enemy. This included ending a back and bi’s day with 65lb deadlifts performed with a fixed weight barbell. Do I need to go into any more detail? The point is this:

What if at the ripe old age of 19 I had been put in the hands of me today? How would things have been different? I’d like to think that I’d be squatting 700lbs and shooting lightning bolts out of my eyes by now.

Although I was given a crap program, and learned nothing useful to help me in the future, those 10 hours were still 10 hours I REALLY looked forward to at the time. That trainer had the opportunity to seriously impact my life today. In the end the only positive take away from that time was a reminder that each and every time I work with someone I can give them what he gave me, or I can leave them with an experience, and knowledge, to last a lifetime.

To be honest, I wasn’t going to change my physique drastically in 10 hours anyway. Therefore, the best things I could have gained  from him weren’t physical, but mental results.

Don’t underestimate the impact you have on your clients lives. 

During my career as a coach I have received e-mails and letters from clients thanking me not only for the physical results they achieved but more importantly the mental ones: exercise cues, mental fortitude, and an appreciation for training as a refuge from the stresses of daily life.

I can’t think of anything more gratifying than receiving a testimonial that includes rave reviews about how much was learned during our time together. Better yet, receiving an email explaining to me how someone has overcome challenging times in his or her life through the training we did in the gym.

That stuff gets me fired up. That stuff has me jumping out of bed at 4:30a ready to help people get stronger physically and mentally.  That stuff helps me realize how truly lucky I am to do what I do.

I chose this as a career path because it’s my passion. Training has done more for me than I can begin to tell you. I live for it, I’ll probably die doing it in some capacity.

Over the past few years I have been fortunate to meet others along the way who feel the same. To those who don’t: I think you’re in the wrong profession. Furthermore, I am grateful to be working in a facility alongside people I trust because I know they share my passion.

You might think that coaching / training is just a way to make money. Worse even, you might think it’s a job where you get paid to look good and “workout.” If so, your grossly undervaluing the importance of your position.

The time you spend with clients are their favorite hours of the whole week. Your clients deserve the best and you need to give that to them, day in, day out.

You might not realize how much training with you means to them. You should approach each client assuming that it means everything. You don’t know what they’re going through. You don’t know the true impact of the lessons you impart on them.

That should motivate you to deliver the best possible product, to stay educated and to give each client the effort and detail they deserve.

My clients motivate the hell out of me. I’m humbled at the opportunity to play such a large role in their lives.

 

 

4 Responses to “Fired Up!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2011′s Best – Fashionably Late « Greg Robins - January 5, 2012

    […] Fired Up! […]

  2. I Went To a Yoga Class « Greg Robins - March 18, 2012

    […] I have the greatest job in the world. I get to affirm their belief that going somewhere uncomfortable first – will lead them to an overwhelming sense of empowerment. I also understand how they’re feeling, at any level of training experience. […]

  3. You are setting yourself up to fail. « Greg Robins - March 23, 2012

    […] Fired Up […]

  4. 25 Lessons From My 25th Year « Greg Robins - May 4, 2012

    […] I love my job, and if you don’t, I think you should make a […]

Leave a Reply

