What Supplements I Take

20 Mar

Yesterday I posted a message up on facebook. It said this:

“Want to know what I had today post training, two pb&j sandwiches on Ezekiel bread and three hard-boiled eggs. If another 150lb guy whines about not having the right supplements near me again….I swear…. Just eat some damn food, train Hard, and go to bed.”

I almost got ticked off. I don’t really get ticked off, I’m pretty easy mannered. In fact, I’m one of those people who gets more ticked off when something I don’t like happens to someone I care about more so than if something happens to me.

I get annoyed when I hear people whine about not taking the right supplements. As if that is the major factor keeping people from reaching their goals. They’re probably right, it has nothing to do with their crappy diet, lack of consistency and the hell they put their bodies through on a weekly basis.

I wish I was kidding when I tell you I have met countless guys who literally have a gym bag, a car trunk, and or an entire cupboard full of supplements. Oddly enough none of them impressed me with their physique, performance or personality in general.

After I posted that comment up I got asked what supplements I do take, if any. I do take supplements. I take supplements that are meant to actually supplement something in my daily intake. Here they are:

1. Creatine

2. Fish Oil

3. Vitamin D

4. Superfood (which is basically a greens / berries freeze-dried powder) If I get a lot of veggies and some fruit in, I won’t take it.

5. Caffeine (in the form of black coffee, or a caffeine pill)

6. Protein Powder (not religiously, only when I haven’t eaten that much, or I am on the go)

Aside from that, I drink A LOT of water and I drink gatorade during intense training sessions.

I also don’t stay up til 3a, binge drink, or eat like a ten-year old.

I’m going to follow this up with some posts on the benefits to the supplements I take, stay tuned. In the mean time, I would like to know what other people think of supplements, what they take, and why they take it. So leave a comment below.

Money well spent?

5 Responses to “What Supplements I Take”

  1. Nikki March 21, 2012 at 2:31 am #

    What do you think about BCAA’s, glutamine, green tea extract, and a multi-vitamin?

    • gregtrainer March 22, 2012 at 9:24 am #

      Nikki, I think BCAA’s and glutamine are useful. Many protein powder’s already have a rich supply of both. I also think BCAA’s are a good choice for the person looking to drop Body Fat. Green Tea extract, sure. I don’t think it’s super important, but it’s healthy enough. Multi V is a good choice. I just prefer super food or greens+ because they are powder and come from real foods.

  2. Chris March 21, 2012 at 11:38 am #

    Multi vitamin, L-glutamine, BCAA, Fish oil, Whey, Waxy maize

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Why Creatine? « Greg Robins - March 21, 2012

    […] am going to keep these supplement posts short and […]

  2. Weekly Recap « Greg Robins - March 26, 2012

    […] What Supplements I Take […]

Leave a Reply

