You are setting yourself up to fail.

23 Mar

Yesterday I threw up a post on facebook:

“I want to lose body fat but I don’t want to be like crazy ripped. I want to put on muscle but I don’t want to be too big. I want to get strong but I don’t want to be too strong. When you signed up to play sports did you not want to be a pro athlete? When you took up an instrument did you not want to be a rock-star? When you took out a college loan did you want to be educated, just not too educated? Funny how our attitude changes when we’re older. Don’t limit yourself from the start. Aim high, find a sense of happiness along the way.”

I don’t know where, but the comparison I made has been made before. It was in a bit different context, but it made a big impact on me.

When I think about the few activities that have significantly changed my life, I realize that they all have something in common: I took them up to be awesome at them.

I didn’t play baseball in the MLB, but I got a lot closer than most people. The lessons I learned while pushing my capabilities to their max have stayed with me to this day. Not to mention my understanding of the game, and ability to teach it, has afforded me a lot of unique opportunities. Additionally, I formed incredible relationships with teammates, coaches, and my dad, who supported me through everything. I’m grateful for all of this.

I have sung and played the guitar since I was 14. I am definitely not going to be a Grammy winner. In fact, I don’t really play for anyone but myself. However, when I picked up that first guitar I sure as hell thought I was the next big thing. I attacked it hard. I played in bands, took lessons and practiced a lot. Although I never hit it big, I can still pick the guitar up whenever I want. I can learn songs, write songs, and have a refuge from daily life. I also have something to share with those who are close to me, like my mom, who even knows the words to some of the songs I’ve written!  This outlet has been extremely rewarding for me.

I started training people when I was fairly young. I was 19 years old when I started writing programs for my baseball team, and a few friends. I’m not an industry leader yet, but I’m going to be. I didn’t get into this profession to be mediocre. That’s just not how I’m wired. If I’m never considered one of the best, I know I will have become the absolute best I could be. I also know my efforts have and will continue to impact my client’s lives, and that means so much to me.

To me, success is not a number. It’s not a dollar sign or a record. Success is a feeling of accomplishment, and a happiness that you achieve when you put every damn thing you can into something. Success is the realization that you are proud of who you are and what you have done. Success is to understand all, and be grateful for all, the positive benefits of your labor.

I consider my baseball career a success because I didn’t hold anything back. I consider my music a success because it fulfills me and gives me an outlet. I consider my work as a trainer and coach a success because I pour everything into what I do. I consider myself a success because I operate around my values, and uphold them to the utmost degree.

I do not limit myself, and by doing so I have become stronger, formed incredible relationships, and have pride in who I am.

Too many people set themselves up to fail before they even get started. They justify their limiting behaviors, or their reasoning, and ultimately never reach a point where they are happy, or feel successful.

If you are going to do something, do it right, and do it with purpose. If you aren’t willing to put the effort in, then don’t do it. You’re probably better off focusing on less.

When you aim high, and expend all the energy you have into  – your family, your work, your training, and / or your life – you will find success. Don’t be blind to the impact of your efforts, the great things you have done, or the things you  have learned during the process.

If you are truly giving it everything, you are a success. You will find happiness in who you are and what you do. Limiting yourself from the start will not get you where you want to be. It just so happens that where you want to be is not always exactly where you thought it was when you got started.

If you want to get strong, gain muscle, or lose fat do what it takes to be the strongest, the biggest, the leanest. You will either get there, or get somewhere you’re proud of, and happy with along the way. If you aim for the middle you will always feel like it’s not enough; and it isn’t. You’re never going to know what you could have done.

More posts on mindset and motivation:

Never Settle

The Strongest Version Of Yourself

Fired Up

I Went To a Yoga Class

3 Responses to “You are setting yourself up to fail.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Recap « Greg Robins - March 26, 2012

    […] You are setting yourself up to fail. […]

  2. Good Reads of the Week: Edition 5 | LaVack Fitness - April 1, 2012

    […] Part 1 and  Part 2 – Kiefer John Approaching The Bar Part 1 and Part 2 – Greg Robins You Are Setting Yourself Up to Fail – Greg Robins Managing Training for Strength – HRV Training Training Myths – :Lee Boyce Pressing […]

  3. 25 Lessons From My 25th Year « Greg Robins - May 4, 2012

    […] 2. Don’t limit yourself from the start. […]

Leave a Reply

