My First “I’m Getting Old” Moment

17 May

Now that I am at CP, I have the luxury of spending seven hours a day with athletes ages 14 to 21.

To be honest, I love it.

First of all, I will forever be a kid at heart. Secondly, I can’t imagine a more positive place for a teenager to spend his time after school. The iron teaches us many great lessons, and learning how to train at a young age does more than aid your athletic career, it sets you up for a lifetime of health, strength, and companionship. Lastly, I am humbled at the future opportunity to serve as a role model for these kids, and help them in any way I can.

That being said, I didn’t realize until now how old I am. Yesterday, we had some Rage Against The Machine playing, and I asked a few of the athlete’s how much they loved RATM. Of course implying that when I go to lift heavy things, they are a favorite choice. I was unexpectedly greeted by the answer that none of them even knew who RATM was.

Really? REALLY?!

Additionally they thought they had heard of Metallica, but weren’t sure.

Of course, Drake and Nicki Minaj, rang a bell right away. This isn’t ok.

…I am getting old, and modern music is mostly awful. That is all, carry on.

 

4 Responses to “My First “I’m Getting Old” Moment”

  1. Janet Moore May 17, 2012 at 10:48 am #

    LOL!!!! You think you’re old! Have you or them ever heard of my era, Aerosmith, Boston, Eagles, Lynyrd Skynyrd! How about them Beach Boys!!!! 🙂

    • gregtrainer May 22, 2012 at 9:03 am #

      I know all of them! I guess my dad did a nice job bringing up my musical awareness!

  2. kalinmcclure May 19, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

    Yikes! Hopefully you can help point these at-risk youth down a more desirable path… one without the term “yolo,” hopefully.

Leave a Reply

