My 5 Favorite “Core” Moves

24 May

I was recently asked what my favorite exercises for the “core” were. I am a minimalist when it comes to my own training. I spent a long time experimenting with every new exercise variation that I saw, and bouncing all over the place with my training. More recently I have found great success, and happiness with my training by keeping it simple.

So…the list below is nothing fancy. It just works. (Many thank you’s to the folks in the videos.) It will also have to suffice until I save up enough money for the Ab Belt.

1. Ab Rollouts

This is my staple movement. I have used it for A LONG time. It can be done band resisted, standing, knees elevated, in a box, with green eggs and ham, the options are endless.

2. Reverse Crunches

These are relatively new to my repertoire. They hurt so good, and the benefits explained in the video in regards to getting some healthy flexion for more extension based people (like myself) is something I am on board with.

3. Body Saw

These are similar to the rollouts. Except with these I can be on my toes, not have to go into so much shoulder flexion, and add some weight under my feet as well. The positioning seems to have me working further down my torso, closer the hips and waist than in the rollout. You can use a sideboard, valslides or even towel on a slick surface.

(This video sucks, but it gives you the idea. Keep your hips in extension, and squeeze your butt.)

4. GHR Sit Ups

These are more aggressive. They work fine for me, they may be a little much for certain populations. I think they are great, can be loaded easily and differently, and challenge hip flexors and anterior “core” well.

Rak City as I have come to know him, demonstrates an off-set variation here:

5. Pallof Press Variations

There are too many of these to count now-a-days. I generally just stick to the OG of the group. PP’s are great for anti-rotation, and train stability in the standing posture which is a plus.

3 Responses to “My 5 Favorite “Core” Moves”

  1. thisfitchick May 28, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

    Great suggestions! Going to try out the Body Saw this week- that looks great.

    • gregtrainer May 28, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

      Thanks for reading! The body saw is great.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Inspired Fit Strong – Най-интересните статии, които прочетох: 06/09/12 - June 8, 2012

    […] My 5 Favorite Core Moves […]

Leave a comment