Mental Strength: A Lesson On Communication

12 Feb

One of my favorite things about keeping a blog is that it serves as a forum to share lessons I have learned. These lessons might not do anyone any good, all I know is that they have been pivotal realizations in my journey. The following lesson certainly does not share a close relationship with lifting. Furthermore, I wouldn’t consider myself someone who has it all figured out. More accurately, I am someone who has done a phenomenal job of not heeding other’s advice the first time, and learning lessons the hard way; often learning the same lesson through repeated neglect of their value the first time around.

So in short: Striving to do the following thing has improved my life, and I think it will do the same for you.

Stop talking shit about people when they aren’t there.

Great-people-talk-about-ideas-average-people-talk-about-things-small-people-talk-about-other-people

This is one you hear all the time. It’s as if we all know the importance of it, but continually do it anyway. Imagine that for every time you took part in a conversation about someone who wasn’t present, a conversation about you took place as well. Not a great thought if you ask me. Furthermore, how much more efficient would your communication be if you had the spine to just tell people to their face what you are willing to say about them behind their back? Additionally, how much more fruitful would your relationships with friends, co-workers, etc., be if every time you saw them you knew – that they knew – exactly what you thought about them? 

I am guilty of doing this. I continually catch myself doing it to this day. The difference is that I have cut the time I spend in these conversations down by 80%. More times than not I either stop a minute  into it, or I just serve as a set of ears (which doesn’t make it right). When I do serve as a set of ears though, I try my best to politely steer the person talking to me in the direction of approaching the subject of their rant.

Starting today, be more aware of this. Make an effort to stop, and an effort to help others do the same.

One Response to “Mental Strength: A Lesson On Communication”

  1. Colleen Reed February 12, 2013 at 9:25 pm #

    Hey there. Great post! So glad to see you blogging again. I hope all is well there. I thought you might be interested in the attached book. Ijust finished ghostwriting it for a client. You might find some of the tips, tools, and tactics helpful in your marketing efforts. -Colleen P.S. What happened to your awesome video blogs? Those were genius! 😀

    >________________________________ > From: Greg Robins >To: colleenreed24x7@yahoo.com >Sent: Tuesday, February 12, 2013 8:17 PM >Subject: [New post] Mental Strength: A Lesson On Communication > > WordPress.com >gregtrainer posted: “One of my favorite things about keeping a blog is that it serves as a forum to share lessons I have learned. These lessons might not do anyone any good, all I know is that they have been pivotal realizations in my journey. The following lessons certainly ” >

Leave a Reply

